Announcement: Anne Klein Women’s Award 2024


With its Anne Klein Women’s Award, the Heinrich Böll Foundation honours women who courageously and perseveringly advocate human rights, equality and sexual self-determination.

The award includes prize money of EUR 10,000 and has been bestowed since 2012. The awardees are from Germany and abroad.

Through this award, the Heinrich Böll Foundation also commemorates Anne Klein (1950-2011), a woman, lawyer and politician who dedicated her life to fighting for women’s rights and civil liberties.

The award ceremony will take place on 01 March 2024 in Berlin.
These first Fridays in March, when we welcome and celebrate the awardee in Berlin, are very special evenings. There are great speeches and touching moments, the award winners take centre stage for themselves and their work. Where they belong and where we should be looking. To Syria, Colombia, India, Serbia, Mexico, South Africa, Germany and Turkey - just to name a few. For some, the publicity the award creates is almost like life insurance and protection for their courage. For the 10th anniversary, we visited the women. Here they explain what the Anne Klein Women's Prize means to them.

We hereby announce the Anne Klein Women's Prize 2024!
We invite you to nominate candidates for the 2024 Anne Klein Women’s Award. Please use no more than three A4 pages to present your candidate and also provide reasons for your choice.
Further details and nomination criteria can be found here.

The closing date for submissions is 3rd September 2023.

Heinrich Böll Foundation | Anne Klein Women’s Award | Schumannstr. 8 | 10117 Berlin
Ulrike Cichon,, T +49 (0)30 285 34-112